

List of Surgeons General and Deputy Surgeons of the U.S. Air Force

The U.S. Air Force has had 25 Surgeons General since *Air Force General Order No. 35*, 8 *June 1949* created the Air Force Medical Service, effective July 1, 1949.

1st First Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Malcolm C. Grow, Major General, July 1949 November 1949
- Deputy Surgeon General: Dan C. Ogle, Major General, December 1949 March 1953

2nd Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Harry G. Armstrong, Major General, December 1949 June 1954
- Deputy Surgeon General: William Henry Powell, Major General, April 1953 June 1957

3rd Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Dan C. Ogle, Major General, July 1954 November 1958
- Deputy Surgeon General: Olin F. McIlnay, Major General, *June 1957 August 1959*

4th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Oliver K. Niess, Major General, December 1958 December 1963
- Deputy Surgeon General: John K. Cullen, Major General, August 1959 April 1961
- Deputy Surgeon General: Richard L. Bohannon, Major General, April 1961 December 1963

5th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Richard L. Bohannon, Lieutenant General, *December 1963 November 1967*
- Deputy Surgeon General: Kenneth E. Pletcher, Major General, December 1963 July 1966
- Deputy Surgeon General: Alonzo A. Towner, Major General, July 1966 May 1970

6th Surgeon General

• Surgeon General: Kenneth E. Pletcher, Lieutenant General, December 1967 - April 1970

7th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Alonzo A. Towner, Lieutenant General, May 1970 July 1972
- Deputy Surgeon General: Thomas H. Crouch, Major General, May 1970 April 1972

8th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Robert A. Patterson, Lieutenant General, August 1972 July 1975
- Deputy Surgeon General: Maxwell Wensel Steele, Major General, April 1972 April 1975
- Deputy Surgeon General: George E. Schafer, Major General, April 1975 August 1975

9th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: George E. Schafer, Lieutenant General, August 1975 July 1978
- Deputy Surgeon General: Benjamin R. Baker, Major General, August 1975 December 1976
- Deputy Surgeon General: Garth B. Dettinger, Major General, December 1976 May 1980

10th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Paul W. Myers, Lieutenant General, August 1978 July 1982
- Deputy Surgeon General: Murphy A. Chesney, Major General, May 1980 August 1985

11th Surgeon General

• Surgeon General: Max B. Bralliar, Lieutenant General, August 1982 - July 1985

12th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Murphy A. Chesney, Lieutenant General, August 1985 July 1988
- Deputy Surgeon General: Alexander M. Sloan, Major General, August 1985 October 1988

13th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Monte B. Miller, Lieutenant General, August 1988 July 1991
- Deputy Surgeon General: James G. Sanders, Major General, October 1988 October 1991

14th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Alexander M. Sloan, Lieutenant General, August 1991 July 1994
 - o *Robert A. Buethe, Major General (Acting Surgeon General), *July 1994 September* 1994
- Deputy Surgeon General: Robert A. Buethe, Major General (Acting; title was director of medical plans and resources), *October 1991 July 1994*

15th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Edgar R. Anderson, Jr., Lieutenant General, September 1994 November 1996
- Deputy Surgeon General: Charles H. Roadman, Major General, July 1994 November 1996

16th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Charles H. Roadman II, Lieutenant General, November 1996 October 1999
 - *Michael K. Wyrick, Major General (Acting Surgeon General), October 1999 October
- Deputy Surgeon General: Michael K. Wyrick, Major General, November 1996 October 1999

17th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Paul K. Carlton, Jr., Lieutenant General, November 1999 October 2002
- Deputy Surgeon General: Leonard M. Randolph, Major General, November 1999 July 2001
- Deputy Surgeon General: James G. Roudebush, Major General, July 2001 July 2006

18th Surgeon General

• Surgeon General: George P. Taylor, Lieutenant General, October 2002 - July 2006

19th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: James G. Roudebush, Lieutenant General, August 2006 August 2009
- Deputy Surgeon General: Charles B. Green, Major General, August 2006 August 2009

20th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Charles B. Green, Lieutenant General, August 2009 July 2012
- Deputy Surgeon General: Byron C. Hepburn, Brigadier General, August 2009 November 2010
- Deputy Surgeon General: Thomas W. Travis, Major General, November 2010 July 2012

21st Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Thomas W. Travis, Lieutenant General, July 2012 June 2015
- Deputy Surgeon General: Mark A. Ediger, Major General, July 2012 June 2015

22nd Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Mark A. Ediger, Lieutenant General, June 2015 June 2018
- Deputy Surgeon General: Dorothy A. Hogg, Major General, June 2015 June 2018

23rd Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Dorothy A. Hogg, Lieutenant General, June 2018 June 2021
- Deputy Surgeon General: Sean L. Murphy, Major General, *June 2018 May 2021*

24th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: Robert I. Miller, Lieutenant General, June 2021 June 2024
- Deputy Surgeon General: John J. DeGoes, Major General, May 2021 June 2024

25th Surgeon General

- Surgeon General: John J. DeGoes, Lieutenant General, July 2021 present
- Deputy Surgeon General: Stephen M. Mounts, Senior Executive Service, January 2025 present