News Search

Emergency TRICARE procedures in effect for Louisiana and Texas due to Hurricane Harvey

Hurricane emergency graphic

Hurricane emergency graphic

Falls Church, Va. --

The governors of Louisiana and Texas have declared a State of Emergency due to severe flooding caused by Hurricane Harvey. To help beneficiaries affected by the storm, TRICARE has granted emergency prescription refills and waived referral requirements.

Emergency Refills

Emergency prescription refill procedures are in place from August 23, 2017 through September 05, 2017, in all of Louisiana, and the following Texas counties: 

Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin,  Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Waller, Walker, Washington, Wharton, Wilson and Willacy.

To get an emergency refill, take your prescription bottle to any TRICARE retail network pharmacy. To find a network pharmacy:

If possible, visit the pharmacy where the prescription was filled.

  • If you use a retail chain, you can fill your prescription at another store in that chain.
  • If your provider is available, he or she may call in a new prescription to any network pharmacy.
  • You can request assistance at another pharmacy, but it's at that pharmacy's discretion to help you. 

Referral Requirement Waived

If you are evacuated, or otherwise unable to get to your primary care manager, you may not be able to get a referral for specialty care. This requirement is suspended in the following Texas counties:


Aransas, Austin, Bee, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Brazoria, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson.

Effective Dates: August 24, 2017 - September 5, 2017

To Get Care: Find a provider where you are, and schedule an appointment.